Life

I Haven’t Failed

“I have not failed 10,000 times. I have not failed once. I have succeeded in proving that those 10,000 ways will not work.”
Thomas Edison

I give myself a lot of grief for not seeing things through.

I’m a quitter. I start things that I don’t finish. Someone said something similar to me a while ago, and it’s true.

But really, that isn’t it. I’m a quitter because I think that suffering on the wrong path for the sake of little more than perseverance itself isn’t worth it. I know that Thomas Edison wasn’t talking about changing the direction your life, but I still think it rings true. Continuing on a path that doesn’t make you happy is unlikely to suddenly make you happy one day, unless you know there is a clear goal on the path you’ve taken. I’d rather try to walk down 10,000 wrong paths and realise they are wrong and turn around to take another than walk down the same single wrong path for the remainder of my life.

I haven’t failed – not 10,000 times, not once. I’ve tried things. I’ve found things that don’t work for me. I’ve found things that make me unhappy. But I’ve also found things that do work for me, and I’ve found things that do make me happy. I’m learning about myself.

Sophie x

Leave a Reply

